#7 in a Series Examining Every Item on the Beloit Mindset List

Major League Baseball has never had fewer than three divisions and never lacked a wild card entry in the playoffs. (Class of 2015, #61)

Major League Baseball went to four divisions in 1969, around a quarter of a century before the Class of 2015 was born. Since 1994, there have been six divisions. MLB has never had just three divisions.

It just isn’t that difficult to look this stuff up.